About us

Jabiru Kabolkmakmen has been established as a company limited by guarantee with the Northern Territory Government and Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation as its two founding members. Jabiru Kabolkmakmen provides services that progress the repurposing of Jabiru with the following three priorities:

  1. support the transition of ownership, leasing and maintenance of housing, business premises and other infrastructure from the current town Headlease to new township leasing arrangements.
  2. provide services to the founding members and other major stakeholders, which support and progress the detailed implementation of the Jabiru Masterplan.
  3. facilitate social and economic development for Jabiru, West Arnhem Land and Kakadu.

Our board

Andy Lloyd – Independent Chair

Andy Lloyd has over 30 years’ experience in the resources industry, having retired from Rio Tinto in July 2013. Andy has held a number of senior project, development and board positions within the Rio Tinto group in Papua New Guinea, Australia, and the UK within the copper, aluminium and energy businesses. This included serving as a Director on the Board of ERA from 2002 to 2006.

Andy is currently a director of Developing East Arnhem Ltd (DEAL), a company established by the Northern Territory Government and Rio Tinto Alcan in 2014, at the time Rio Tinto placed the alumina refinery on care and maintenance. Over the past five years DEAL has been successful in rebuilding business confidence in the town of Nhulunbuy and supporting economic development in the East Arnhem region.

Andy has a depth of experience in energy and climate policy. In 2012, he was a member of the Australian Federal Governments' advisory group for the Energy White Paper. From 2014 to 2018, he was an independent member of the Federal Government’s Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee.

Andy has degrees in natural resource management and commerce, is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has extensive experience in corporate governance and in dealing with governments.

Trish Crossin– Director (GAC)

Trish Crossin is a former Senator (and first woman to represent the Northern Territory) in the Federal Parliament of Australia (1998-2013) 

Trish was Chair of the Senate Legal and Constitutional Committee, Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People. Trish was also a Member of the Joint Committee for Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Account and the Senate Education, Employment and Workplace Relations Committee. She also held the position of Deputy Whip and Chair of the Federal Caucus Committee on the Status of Women.

Trish is currently a Director of the Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation and Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia. She is a board member of St Columba’s College Pty Ltd, WEstjustice Community Legal Service, and the Asthma Foundation NT. She is a member of the Safer Communities Committee of Wyndham City Council and a member of the Advisory Committee on Indigenous Eye Health at the University of Melbourne. Trish was formerly President of Netball NT and Inaugural Chair and Founder of the NT Working Women’s Centre. 

Trish is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Bachelor of Education. She has direct knowledge and experience working as a member of the federal government and an extensive background in governance of community and advisory boards. Her areas of expertise include comprehensive knowledge of the challenges of rural and remote Australia, government relations, education funding and policy.

Alastair Shields – Director (NTG) 

Alastair Shields was born and educated in Darwin and has more than 35 years of public sector experience in the Northern Territory, most of it at the Northern Territory Department of the Attorney General and Justice and its predecessors. In the period 2013 to 2017, he held a number of Chief Executive Officer roles for Northern Territory Government agencies, including the Department of Tourism and Culture (from its establishment in September 2016 until December 2017), the Department of Land Resource Management (from February 2015 until December 2016), the Department of Business (during 2014), and the Department of Children and Families (2013).

He has extensive experience in Indigenous land matters, including native title and Aboriginal land claims, and negotiations concerning use of Indigenous land. He provided legal advice, participated in negotiations, and drafted agreements for Indigenous land issues for a variety of NT projects, including the Australasia Railway, Blue Mud Bay, the suburb of Bellamack in Palmerston, settlement of the Kenbi Land Claim and Ord River Stage III.

In addition to his directorship of Jabiru Kabolkmakmen Ltd, Alastair is Chair of the AustralAsia Railway Corporation, Chair of the Racing Commission (NT), member of the Pastoral Land Board (NT), and Chief Executive Officer of the Darwin Waterfront Corporation. He is also the Northern Territory Government representative on the Joint Management Board for Kakadu National Park, and he provides specialist consulting services to a number of private sector and Government Clients.

He has qualifications in Law and Accounting from the Charles Darwin University, and a Masters in Public Administration from ANZSOG. In 2007, he was awarded Australian Government Lawyer of the Year by the Australian Corporate Lawyers Association.

Our team

  • Stefan Hladenki – CEO
  • Marinella Faggion – Project Manager

Our partners

  • Energy Resources of Australia
  • Commonwealth Government
  • Northern Land Council
  • West Arnhem Regional Council